The Sessions

Suggestions for organizing sessions and proposals for contributed presentations

Participants may submit full session proposals or abstracts for individual contributed presentations. Session organizers pay a reduced fee, become members of the SPC, and are requested to arrange 3-4 talks (20 min + 5 min discussion) in their sessions (or accept proposals from non-invited participants) while collecting titles and abstracts from the contributors. It is possible to submit more than one session proposal, but each participant may only deliver one presentation.

Please send suggestions for organizing sessions and proposals for contributed presentations to Dieter Rasch (

Author articles

Authors should submit electronic versions of abstracts of papers (1-2 pages) by February 20, 2019.

Submission guidelines will be made available on this webpage in time.

Conference Proceedings Volume

A conference proceedings volume of selected and peer-reviewed papers will be negotiated with Springer.
To guarantee timeliness publication of this volume we expect the full papers to be submitted to the SPC no later than October 31, 2019 to
Jürgen Pilz (

Journal of Statistical Theory and Practice

A special issue with peer-reviewed papers will be prepared for the Journal of Statistical Theory and Practice. The editor of the journal, Sat Gupta, will distribute e-copies of this special issue to the participants before the conference. For this, the papers have to be submitted no later than October 31, 2018 to the journal via
Taylor & Francis Online - Journal of Statistical Theory and Practice .

Sessions (preliminary)
Session Organizer
Plenary Session I, Key Note Speaker: Edgar Brunner (Germany)
Plenary Session II, Key Note Speaker (Wednesday, 4 Sep): Holger Dette (Germany)
Plenary Session III, Key Note Speaker: Christian Robert (France, UK)
Data Generation Assisted Inference Regina Liu (USA)
Statistical Design and Analysis of Experiments Subir Ghosh (USA)
Optimal Design of Experiments Jesus Lopez Fidalgo (Spain)
Experimental Design Roberto Fontana (Italy)
Experimental Design and Application Karl Moder (Austria)
Inference for Complex Multivariate Designs - Enhanced Procedures and open questions I Arne Bathke (Austria)
Inference for Complex Multivariate Designs - Enhanced Procedures and open questions II Markus Pauly (Germany)
Statistical Learning - Methods and Applications I Jürgen Pilz (Austria)
Statistical Learning - Methods and Applications II Michael G. Schimek (Austria)
Nonparametric Statistics and New Technologies Michael G. Schimek (Austria)
Computer-generated experimental designs Hans-Peter Piepho (Germany)
Functional Data Alexander Meister (Germany)
Recent Developments in Survival Analysis Marieluisa Restaino (Italy) and Hongsheng Dai (UK)
Statistics in Demography Richard Gisser und Maria Rita Testa (Austria)
Recent Advances on Modelling and Analysis of Geostatistical Data Victor De Oliveira (USA)
Statistical Ecology Matthew Schofield (New Zealand)
Environmental Statistics Gunter Spöck (Austria)
Likelihood-free Statistical Design and Inference Werner Müller (Austria)
Statistical Selection Procedures and Multiple Comparison Dieter Rasch (Austria)
Big Data Analytics / High Dimensional Data Analysis S. Ejaz Ahmed (Canada)
Computational Biology Ruriko Yoshida (USA)
Forensic Statistics Christopher Saunders (USA)
Statistical Challenges in Neurology Yvonne Höller (Iceland)
Recent Advances in Modelling Techniques and Hypothesis Testing Problems Ilia Vonta (Greece)
Free Contributed Papers (20 min.) The chairmen of the SPC
Student Poster Session Cami Fuglsby (USA)

Scientific Program Commitee


Jürgen Pilz

Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt


Viatcheslav Melas

Saint Petersburg State University


Dieter Rasch

BoKu Wien

A. Androv (Latvia) Valery Federov (USA) Werner Müller (Austria)
Anthony Atkinson (UK) Jesus Lopez Fidalgo (Spain) Valery Nevzorov
Rosa Arboretti (Italy) Nancy Flournoy (USA) Markus Pauly (Germany)
Arne Bathke (Austria) Subir Ghosh (USA) Andrey Pepeleyshev (UK)
N. Balakrishnan (Canada) Marie Huskova (Czech) Fortunato Pesarin (Italy)
Michel Broniatowski (France) MaPaz Linares (Spain Luigi Salmaso (Italy)
Ekaterina Bulinskaya (Russia) Gennady Mikhailov (Russia) Rainer Schwabe (Germany)
Esteve Sodina (Spain) Simos Meintanis (Greece) John Stufken (USA)
Holger Dette (Germany) Alexander Meister (Austria) Bruno Tuffin (France)
Clemens Draxler (Austria) Karl Moder (Austria) Dariusz Ucinski (Poland)
Sergei Ermakov (Russia) Toni Monleón (Spain) Estevan Vetgas (Spain)
Henry Wynn (UK) Lídia Montero (Spain) Michael G. Schimek (Austria)
Yvonne Höller (Iceland)